I want to learn English

chowsimon

I want to learn English

can anyone give me advice on where to start from, since i am a beginner.

And where can i know more about america? bbs?

I will check here frequently . thanks a lot

Learn about English and America are two different tasks. I suggest you pickup an American history book at the library to learn about America. America does not have a very long history, so it's not a daunting task to learn about our government, and the Jeffersonian type of system we still have in place.

English on the other hand is the most difficult language to learn, espcially with the slang used on the streets. I must say I feel extremly previliaged to have somebody from another country who wants to learn about mine. It's a great country, and thanks for your intrest. Where are you from?
Paul

What were you wanting to know about America? History, geography, culture, etc. The best way to learn about a place is to go and visit/live there. If that isn't a possibility, just google links about different cities in the United States. Learning the American culture is rather rough and takes time and patience.

Something that I recommend to people that want to learn English is that they don't get discouraged by all the slang that Americans use. It takes some getting used to, but once you figure out what we are saying, things usually get better. ;)

Good luck!

I am from china .

you know ,English is a required course in our country.It is even more important than mathematics , physics . I think USA is a great country,and the people live in there is humor and hospitable .I just want to know the Americans' habit and the way they thinking things.
my question is :what would you usually say when you plan to say hello to a stranger? My textbook taught us "How do you do".
Is it right?