Infected with ibm00001.exe. The error message is gone but it's not...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have read some of the sticky threads and scanned my puter w/ the freebies- all that does is tell me I have malware/spyware.
Isn't there a way for me to somehow get rid of this w/o having to download a pricey program? I have Mcafee but it obviously missed this. I wish I could just tell Mcaffee what to look for! I've scanned and it tells me I'm clean.

I'm also getting a box at startup telling me to enter my Network password for MSN networking. Name: Default.
?? Did the cableguy screw something up or is this connected with ibm?

I did the HKEY_LM and followed it down to name and data but the only things there were name: default and data: value not set. I've tried to follow other ideas but I am not a computer programmer and some of the instructions are hard to follow. I hope someone will take pity and offer me a bit of help! :blush:

When I hir Run, msconfig and look at what's there, it's still listed as Shell:..............ibm.00001.exe where I guess it should say explorer.exe. I'm not able to get in there.

I apologize for being ignorant but I need to get rid of this and everyone here seems so knowledgable- it's kept us from getting dsl. The cable guy said to call him back once we're rid of this.

Thanks for any help offered.

Laura

there are many anti-trojan horse/spyware/adware programs that are free.

Bear in mind these programs will NOT remove rootkits. (a particularly nasty kind of trojan.) You'll need to manually remove this yourself.

When using these programs turn OFF system restore after booting in SAFE mode.

programs to use are ad-aware, sptbot search and destroy, ewido, and micro$oft anti spyware. All of these can be downloaded for free.

You're infected with the Torpig-E virus/trojan aka anserin trojan. It steals information and tampers with your windows files, decreases security, and installs into the system registry.

Norton Removal: