Ishost.exe and Ismini.exe

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey, sorry to sound like a big newbie here. I've got a large problem with Ishost.exe and Ismini.exe. I originally downloaded a piece of software and tried to run it. It dispatched a virus onto my computer that AVG Free caught. I told it to heal it, and it most certainly did not. Now, I was able to boot into safe mode, remove the two files, and remove all traces in the registry. It came back a week later. Then i got a new computer for christmas, and reformatted. When all this was going on, I forgot about the file. It was on my other hard drive, and i was curious as to what it was, seeing as how i forgot it was there. Well, now i have the same files on my computer yet again. I tried safe mode, i tried removing it from startup then doing numerous things, and yet... none of it works. funniest part about it, AVG Free has no idea that they're sitting there. I'm now more protected about my computer, but i'd like to get rid of these files. I have Zone Alarm, so they have no access to the internet and can't do anything but slow my computer down. reformatting is not an option at this point, seeing as i just now got everything situated again, and reformatting again would be such a hassle. i'm very computer literate, so i should be able to understand anything you throw at me. any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-runt9

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave: