Linux Driver Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaptPajamaShark

I recently got linux to work, but I'm having trouble with a driver for an Atheros wireless card.

I'm fairly new to linux and I just realized the drivers in linux are a bit different, and building them is a bit out of my league (or really obvious and I can't see it)

Here is the driver if it makes a difference. Link

Hmm, what flavor of Linux are you running? I cant find too many working solutions for your card all i see is it doesnt work, but im still digging.

Fedora 7, the card works on Vista, which I am dual-booting with, I really just need to know how to build and install the driver for it.

oh i see im have the same going here fedora and vista ultimate, from what i see your running a laptop correct? did you blacklist the default Atheros drivers i believe Fedora comes with if not

Code:
sudo echo "ath_pci" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

Code:
sudo rmmod ath_pci

then reinstall your driver and see if this works.

EDIT** I forgot to give you the disble command its up now

Ok, mine didn't seem to come with any drivers for it, but I'll try that.

And how do I build/install the drivers?

Also, my version of fedora seems to hate me and I can't get the command line to come up is there an easy shortcut that I'm missing for that?

It should be under accessories>terminal... as for drivers im still not seeing how it will work in FC7 i hate to say it but you might need to dl Ubuntu and try that route, i found cases of this card functioning in Ubuntu 7.04. Lemme keep searching though.

Uhh, is there a reason that the driver wouldn't work? It just says in the user guide that I need to build it...and that lead to my original problem at the top of this thread.

In case there is a misunderstanding, I have not installed the driver yet, I need help with that for linux.