Looking for a linux starting point

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spike

Having succesfully installed mandrake 9.2 with a little help from here, I now need a little help starting to understand how to use it.

Nodsu: I like your suggestion about deleteing my win XP D: partition, especially as I have an image of it to burn back to the partition, but I have a problem.

Guys, I'm stuck, and I'm not afraid to admit it. I've never used linux before other than to download files from ftp directories with MSIE. I use my computer largely for the internet, as does my partner, but to do so, I need to install a modem driver.

I don't know how to install a driver in linux, how to install software, emulators, or even change my screen resolution! This is basically because very little seems to equate to windows, and if it does, I can't find it! If anybody could help me with just one or two of these things, I would be a very greatful person indeed.

To get started with Linux, I suggest you have a lookk at the "Linux Bookmark" thread started by Phantasm66. There are various sites that you might find interesting and useful.

TY very much guys. For some reason, When searchjing with even google, I find it difficult to find the info I want on a subject I have never approached before. Especially so now that some silly sod came on my computer and downloaded "Internet Optimiser" and installed it on my windows xp partition. I haven't really been bothered to get rid of it yet.

Anyways, Thanks again. I'm off to have a look.