Magnetic pole emigrating...

Was this a scientest doing a study on the mind altering effects of drugs?
That sounds like madness...

Ah after reading the rest it sounds like it has to do with the earth not being in a perfect orbit.

I havent' read the artical yet. But yes the magnetic poles do wander some and it also switches polarity every once in a while. Meaning that a compass would point the wrong way. You can use magnetostratigraphy to determine sea floor spreading rates.

note: I've had classes on this stuff.

Another side note to that. I work in the Aviation industry, for the airlines as a Maintenance Tech. We have to check the compasses on the aircraft every so often by whats called a compass swing. we take the aircraft out and turn it in all directions with something called a compass rose. Now this may sound boring so let me finish.

When you take off from any airport, the runway has a big number painted on it. That number is its compass heading. Runway 09 is actually 90 degrees from north, 18 is 180 degrees from north or in this case now, due south. When magnetic north pole changes from time to time like it does, airports have to take measurements and recalibrate the runways. meaning if it changes enough, runway 09 which is 90 degrees may be renumbered to say 10, or 100 degrees.

Interesting huh....

The wobble referred to earlier is called Chandler's wobble. The Earth does not rotate perfectly about its axis. Much like a top that slowly degrades in its gyroscopic balance, the Earth shimmies a bit around it axis. The approximate period of this wobble is 1.2 years.

There are some that believe the Earth could shift on its axis if a strong enough gravitic force was introduced ( say a large comet or small star on very long elliptical orbit through our solar system).

Originally posted by setscrew