main pc network unplugged when laptop shutdown

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi im a newbie on the site and need help
My main pc keeps dropping the connetion to the internet when my laptop is shut down. I have just set up a x micro router so that my daughter can use my internet connection with her laptop, everthing works fine while the laptop is connected but as soon as the laptop is shut down the connection keeps saying local area connection unplugged every few minuets ,then if i reconnect the laptop the connection is fine again. The connection is also ok when the main pc is directly into the modem
so its not the connection
The main pc is on win 2000 and is hard wired into the router I also have just connected another old pc which is also on win 2000 to the router (hard wired)
and it s connection drops out at the same time as the main pc so it appears to be a problem between the router and the modem ? which is confusing as it then works ok when the lap is working on wireless can any one help
thanks in anticipation malc

Welcome to TechSpot

Can you explain some more what you have there?

Modem (cable, dsl or dialup) which one?
Router (wired or wireless)
Main PC running Windows 2000 Pro or ME?
Laptop running what OS?
Is the Laptop wireless or wired?

Did you create a home workgroup network?
Did you give it a name like (malc23)

Are all the PCs setup correctly to obtain the IP?
Which brand of Router did you get?

On the Main PC do this...
Click on start
Click on run
type: cmd (if you're running Windows 2000 Pro)
type: cd\windows
type: ipconfig /all >mainpc.txt
type: route print >mainpc2.txt
press enter
type: exit

Now

click on start
click on run
type: c:\windows\mainpc.txt
click okay
click on start
click on run
type: c:\windows\mainpc2.txt

Now repeat the above for the laptop but make sure you change first mainpc.txt to lappc.txt and call the second one mainpc2.txt to lappc2.txt.

Compare what you get to see what's going on in your workgroup network setup.