Management Information System

Status
Not open for further replies.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all
I was wondering if I could get any advice from you nice people.

I am going to apply to do a Masters in Information Systems Management and I am trying to come up with a topic. As I am a teacher, what I have in mind is a Management Information System for a school.

Essentially what the system would have would be:

1. Students own E-mail Accounts
2. Printer Networks
3. Shared Drive for Teachers to put notes on an Intranet

I am not sure where to start. The idea is that every Student will have a user Name and password to log into computers in the school. Then they could access their files from any computer.

I have been doing some research and what I think I have to do is:

1. set up a database for students/staff.
2. design a website for students to log onto e-mail
3. set up a mini-network with a server and 3 or 4 clients

I would have to source some software for setting up the email accounts and printer networks. I am told I can get some open source software for these. Anyone got any idea. Any help would be much appreciated...

I think I posted this in other hardware forum by mistake............tried to delete it but don't know how...........sorry :-(

Do you have a budget?

Because, first off i would say:
Windows 2003 server and create a Domain Controller
XP pro on clients, put desktops on domain
Data stored on server
Exchange server for email
Printers easily networked
Clients access server and resources by logging in to their active directory account, thus allowing them to log into their profile from any desktop.

This help?

legs said:
1. Students own E-mail Accounts
2. Printer Networks
3. Shared Drive for Teachers to put notes on an Intranet
The idea is that every Student will have a user Name and password to log into computers in the school. Then they could access their files from any computer.