Missing "Start" Button, bar & Desktop after creating a new BOOT Drive

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I am brand new to TecSpot, have explored revelent forums here and searched for my specific problem without success.

The old hard drive, 80 GB, in my HP desktop was maxed-out, so I have replaced it with a new 250 GB Maxtor. After copying and setting up the new drive using MaxBlast4; de-powering; swapping cables out and then re-booting, all goes well EXCEPT that my desktop contains no icons, and there is no "START" button or task bar.

I am able to use the computer to browse the net, join this forum, and post this problem by:

(Control+Alt+Delete) to bring up the Task Manager,
then clicking "New Task"
then "Browse" to access "My Computer" "Program Files" "Mozilla Firefox" to finally Select the executable program and tell Task Manager to open.

It would be great to again be able to go to the "Start" button to access "All Programs" etcetera. Having spent the past hour or so looking and searching the forums here, I'm confident that someone will be able to tell the simple setting that I should know by now, but seem to have forgotten...

Thanks,
Vern

Does <CNTL><ESC> do anything?

How about if you create a new user account (if you are using 2000 or XP) and try logging in with it?

Thanks Nodsu & tdeg,

Through the "new task" work-around I am able to access the file Explorer structure, and virtually all other functions if I remember the proper run command , or navigate through the explorer file structure to find the desired program.exe file.

For the moment, after almost 3 solid days of fighting migrate the disk image, to a new larger replacement BOOT drive, I have resorted back to the maxed out origional 80 GB drive. I have bought a bit of time (and space) by deleating the D: HP Recovery partition, and using Partition Magic to recover that 5+ GB by enlarging the C: partion.