Motherboard, Sound, and Other Drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Talinok

All right... Before I get started, I want to make sure that you all know I'm only so-so with computers, and a complete noobie to these forums :( So - This being my first post here, I've read through the forum rules, the stickies, and a few other posts, and I don't think I'll be breaking any forum posting rules, but if I do, please let me know :)

I am getting all the software/drivers that I need for a reformat of my computer, and I need help with the Motherboard, Sound, and (possibly) BIOS drivers (Did I miss any other important drivers? - I already have the video card driver)...

Anyways - I have no idea where to download them, or even what motherboard/sound card that I have (Remember - I'm a noobie :()

I'm willing to open up my computer and look where someone tells me, etc., and I'm sorry this'll be a pain for someone, but I really need help with this - Anyone willing to guide me through this?

Thanks in advance for your time!
(And sorry for the long post)

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Download and run the free Everest programme from HERE. It will give you lots of information about your system.

Once you`ve identified what motherboard(mobo) you have, go to your mobo manufacturers website for the drivers.

As for your soundcard, a lot depends on whether you`ve got onboard sound or a separate sound card.

If Everest says your soundcard is something like AC97, then this is onboard sound and you can get the drivers from your mobo manufacturers site.

Otherwise you would get the sound drivers from your soundcard manufacturers website.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Thank you very much! Glad to be here...

Also - What about BIOS drivers? Should I even bother?

And - Did I miss any other important drivers that I would need? Besides Motherboard, Sound, BIOS, and Video, of course...