Msn messenger error message

Status
Not open for further replies.
ive been using msn messenger 6.2 for months now and recently it has asked me to update, so i clicked yes to update and when it was installing the new one it came up with an error message:

msn messenger could not complete setup :'1601' has occured, try downloading it from the website

so i tried to downlaod it from the site but the same thing happened.

i tried to uninstall and re install but it happened again

can anyone help me?

its getting really annoying

sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, im new to this thing!

From what I can glean from various pieces of information and mis-information on google, it is most likeley to be some kind of issue with the windows installer service. I'm still looking.

The advice on one site was...

1) go to the run box from the start menu
2) Type msiexec /unreg and press enter and wait until it appears to have finished.
3) Go back to Start > Run
4) Type msiexec /regserver and press enter.
5) Try to install MSN Messenger 6 again.

It's up to you if you want to try this.

lol. I actually didn't know anything about this one at all.

I just googled a little, sifted through about 20-25 or so pages all saying different things, and picked what seemed to be the most likely solution. :)

Glad it worked though. I thought it might, but wasn't 100% sure.

Welcome to Techspot by the way ;)