My 1st Build - Need Suggestions & new to TechSpot

Status
Not open for further replies.

judicious

Hi All!

I'm new to eggXpert and I want to build a PC. I noticed most of my chick friends never built a PC, so I figured I would do something out of the norm and build one for myself. Also, because my little generic PC is acting up.

Should I go with the Intel or AMD desktop?

Any idea which AMD board to choose?

INTEL

Motherboard
ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard

Processor
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor

DDR2 800
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

AMD

Motherboard
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

DDR2 800
A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Heatsink
ZALMAN CNPS 9500 AM2 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink

ZEROtherm BTF90 92mm Silent UFO CPU Cooler

MISC.

OS
XP PRO SP2

Harddrive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

Case

Mid-Tower Case / 500W Power Supply / Front Firewire, USB and Audio jacks / Quick Release Side Panel

When looking for durable quality and unparalleled ease of use, look no further than the Ultra Gladiator. The Gladiator supports AT, baby AT, ATX and micro ATX motherboards and features 1mm thick high grade steel. The Gladiator has 10 drive bays. Four tool-free 5.25" drive bays, one external 3.5" bay and five internal 3.5" bays. PCI and AGP cards can be installed and secured to their slots without tools. Components can be kept cool by installing a pair of 120MM fans to the front and rear fan mounts. Gladiator even includes an Intel TAC compliant CPU duct and VGA vent.