Need help on building own PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beanbag

Well, it's my first time building a PC which will be used for gaming, and I'm not really sure where to start. All I know is that I'll be needing:
* CPU
* Motherboard
* Memory
* Hard Drive
* Video Card
* Computer Case
* Power Supply (this is the item which I am very unsure about)
* CD/DVD Drive
* Sound Card (just needs to be "average")

I suppose my budget would be about USD$900 ($1300 SGD where I live) and I guess it could be stretched a little.

CPU: I heard AMD is good for gaming but with the new Intel Core 2 Quad, I'm not very sure..the Q6600 looks quite impressive and I'm currently eyeing it. Also, I hear that the CPU limits the type of mobo suitable for it.

Motherboard: Okay, this is the part I'm very unclear on. Basically I understand it's a place where you chuck the processor, RAM and where you connect the sound card and graphics card (please correct me if I'm wrong). Well I'm not sure what differentiates mobos from each other so please help!!

Memory: I suppose this would be relatively cheap compared to the rest of the parts. I'm thinking a Corsair Dominator 2gb RAM kit, but if you have any other suggestions please tell me:)

Hard Drive: I just need a large storage device (like perhaps 300GB?), I don't think this will have a huge impact on the performance (please correct if wrong).

Video Card: I'm pretty set on the 8800 GT, from what I've heard it gives great bang for its buck. Please post if you have other suggestions.

Computer Case: I'm not too sure about this. I won't be needing a really good one, just a normal case with adequate ventilation would be fine. Please recommend.

PSU: No idea, but I think it should be determined by the CPU/GPU? Please explain..

CD/DVD Drive: Any generic one would do but I'm not sure which..

Sound Card: Can anyone suggest a low-cost one, I'm quite sure sound cards aren't really important to performance?