Need help on overclocking my AMD XP 2600+

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi everyone,
i would be thankfull if ppl can help me with this.
i have this computer since couple of years ago, and it served me well. since i'm a noob, i recently i came up with the method of overclocking. please tell me if i chould overclock my computer, and if so, to what extend so that i wont damage my CPU. i have:

AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 2.08GHz (i know, its old :( )
two DDR 256MG rams (512MB in total)
ASUS A78X2.0 motherboard
ATI Radeon 256MB videocard

supported voltage: 1.6V
External clock: 166Mhz
multiplier: 12.5x (i think its on auto, but its on 12.5 anywayz!!)
Max speed: 3000Mhz
Current speed: 2083MHz

Max. memory module size: 1204MB
supported speed: 70ns 60ns 50ns
supported memory type DIMM
memory module voltage: 3.3V
memory module handle: 06 07 08

current temperature of CPU: 46C (114F)
current temperature of MB: 28C (82F)
current vcore voltage: 1.68V
current CPU fan at: 3629

windows XP service pack 2
ASUS probe 2 (to easily check for temperature and voltage increase/decreas)

i think thats more that enough info, but tell me if i skipped something. i dont know if i should increase the external clock or the multiplier or anything else. which adjustment is the best and safest? thank you for helping me out.

how to check for ram, cpu cooling & PSU

i dont know how to check for these. i opened the case to see if it says it on the device, but didnt find any.

brand and type of ram(DDR or DIMM... is that the right type?), cpu cooling (the fan has an AMD trademark on it) and PSU (if i'm giving the right info for PSU, its 12.48V (for +12V), 4.784V (for +5V), 3.168V (for +3.3V) and 1.68V for Vcore)

how can i check for these?

Thanx

click here>CPU-Z
Will get the ram info.
PSU(power supply unit) should have info on it may need to remove other side panel.
If you have stock Amd cooling, you'll need to look into something better.
More power=more heat

CPU: