Need help trying to overclock please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello there!

I recently purchased my new laptop and put in 2 gigs of extra RAM. It runs fine and smooth. My graphics card is also pretty good - a GeForce 8400M G (128mb)
The processor is a Intel Dual Core T7100 running at 1.8ghz.

However,when I play games like Half Life 2 and crysis, there is a certain choppiness and lag to the in game cutscenes. Playing the game is also hard as it can get choppy at times. I figured that if I overclocked my cpu, it would probably run better. However, I have no idea how to. I'm not a complete noob as I do understand how it works etc. I just haven't found any solid advice and so decided to post here for some help.

Any help would be appreciated greatly =]

-gyradose

It may help a little, but running those games on that laptop is probably the reason why you are getting chopiness. I have a GeForce 7600GT at 256mb and run crysis on low. That type of intergrated graphics probably can't handle something like half life and crysis.

Oh it's not integrated graphics chip if it's an Nvidia right? Plus, it automatically sets the settings to medium on crysis yet there is lag. Crysis recommends more than 2ghz in the processor so I'm guessing if I oc the cpu it would help.

Yes its basicly intergrated. That is what pretty much laptop has is intergrated, it just depends on what type. You could try overclocking your CPU but I am guessing that it won't help much if at all. You probably won't notice the difference between 1.8 and 2.1.