"Network Cable Unplugged" after installing printer

Status
Not open for further replies.
I installed a new printer (HP deskjet 6500 series) on one of the networked computers in our office yesterday and set it up as a shared printer. Ever since then, said computer cannot connect to the network ("network cable unplugged" error). Prior to installing the new printer, everything was working fine. I have tried rebooting the computer, uninstalling & unplugging the printer & restarting, unplugging the network cable and restarting & then plugging back in, and rebooting our entire network. Nothing so far has worked. I'm thinking about using system restore to revert the computer to the way it was prior to installing the printer. But, I've never used system restore before, so I'm a little wary. Anyone have any tips regarding that or other reasons for this problem? Thanks!

Out of curiosity, are the LED's on the NIC on?
Are you getting an APIPA address if you do an ipconfig?

Out of curiousity, are these computers Sony Vaio's?

basically, do you get an address starting with 169.xxx.xxx.xxx

going to device manager -> control panel, system (or hardware, system), click on the hardware tab and click device manager, do you have the integrated NIC listed under network adapters? is there a question mark or exclamation mark next to it? if its not there, is there anything listed in the "Other Devices" section?

The NIC is listed under network adapters, and it says the device is functioning properly. I've tried reinstalling the driver for the card, and it doesn't make a difference. We've had this problem in the past with two other computers (one Dell, one machine built by our local computer store, both with completely different hardware except for the fact that they both had onboard NICs, although not the same brand or anything). The only way we ended up fixing the other computers was to replace the NICs. Then they worked fine.