network help...PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

drawls31

can anybody please tell me how i can make my companies LAN work better?
I am an electrician on an offshore oil rig.I have very limited admin.rights so i can't download anything like adaware or something to remove the crap off of our computers.That crap really slows us down.And most of the time the net is the only way our workers communicate with their families.I'm just trying to make life easier for all of us.we spend a month at a time out here.So we really don't want to deal with crappy internet service on top of being stuck out here.
THANKS FOR ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE.

drawls31 said:
I am an electrician on an offshore oil rig.I have very limited admin.rights so i can't download anything like adaware or something to remove the crap off of our computers.That crap really slows us down.And most of the time the net is the only way our workers communicate with their families.I'm just trying to make life easier for all of us.we spend a month at a time out here.So we really don't want to deal with crappy internet service on top of being stuck out here.
THANKS FOR ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE.
Besides replacing hardware, there isn't much you can do without administrative rights. Find out who has administrative rights and try to convey the importance of cleaning up the computers or granting you rights. Make sure the computers have firewalls, antivirus, et cetera.

On a hardware note you can do a few things. If you are on an older lan, you can replace any hubs with switches. You can replace Ethernet cords that are older then 5e to 5e. With administrative rights, you could replace computers.

At the end of the day tho, you really need to communicate your needs with an administrator or find a way to get administrative rights.

Thanks

Thank you so much for responding.
we use cat 5 cables now what could i do to upgrade this.