Network IP address design question

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemri

Hello,

I am...redoing my network. Imagine 400 computers all on the same network (default VLAN1) with multiple multi-cast programs (and our back bone is set up in a line topology instead of a star topology) sharing a router with another building!! yeah, I'm doing a little house work!!

I work for a school district. I have a two questions which answers are independent of each other. Feel free to answer one or the other.

Here is the set up. I am studying for my CCNA. My middle school is having network issues. Our design is all bad. I have redone the physical rewiring and put in a routing switch to manage our intra-network traffic.. Now it has been suggested to me to break up our network into multiple Vlans. Some of our labs have multi-casting software installed and it would be nice to isolate traffic..

Our backbone is all Cisco products. It is a router with a 24 port routing switch attached to it. 3 48 port switches are then attached to the router/switch. <--After my re-wiring!!

We have 2 Class C networks. One of them may be taken away by the state, and one Class C range is not enough ip address for my school. I can either subnet the two addresses into 4 subnets a piece (giving me 8 subnets with 62 addresses a piece) which I can easily use to divide our 5 major computer rooms and teacher computers with, or I can go Private!!!.

I want to go private because I don't want to redo everything and then find out my school is slated to loose an IP range next year. No one in the district has gone private yet.

QUESTION 1: Since private networks can not communicate with private networks very well, I want to make sure my network doesn't conflict with the district network--should they ever go private.