Networking 2 pc's

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hodsocks

This is my first attempt at networking and I am sure it should be easy, if you believe all Microsoft say, but I am having some problems joining 2 pc's.
One pc has windows XP home edition and the other is running ME, the ME has a network card and the XP has the onboard networking on the Asus A7N8X motherboard.I have joined the 2 with a crossover cable and run the networking wizard from XP on both machines.
Now in theory they should communicate but they seem to have fallen out with each other cos neither seems to be able to find the other. The network icon in the task bar on the XP machine detects if the other pc is on the network, ie. if the ME machine is switched off it flags a message to inform me it is disconnected, so I assume there is some communication going on.
I have checked the TCP/IP settings on both and they are correct, I have tried to search for either machine from the other without success. I am sure the problem is a simple one but at the moment it has me beat, so where am I going wrong here?
Have you guys any suggestions?

Both machines must have the same workgroup and the XP has to use simple file sharing.

Yes, both pc's are the same workgroup.

I was hoping to share the printer and broadband connection on the XP machine with the ME machine. The XP wizard suggests this should be straightforward, or am I being a little naive expecting Microsoft products to be simple to use......:D

In order to share your broadband connection you need to use a router or hub. I'm using a d-link residential gateway router to share my connection with one pc using XP and the other Win98SE. After setting up the network on XP it will ask you to create a network setup disk to install the files needed for the other pc to get connected. You said you are using a crossover cable? With the router i'm using cat5 patch cables for all the router connections to each pc's nic card and to the cable modem.