networking-pinging dns server?

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi, newbie here :)

i try to set up a networking at my house using a router WGR614 and adsl connection, everything works fine, its just that some of the website couldnot be loaded at all , e.g www.gmail.com, i also could not connect to msn messenger.
my thought would be that i have to allocate dns server instead of letting it to autosearch. After entering the dns server, i tried to ping it but it kept on returning "request time out"? what i want to know is that, is it possible for client to ping to dns server? i can ping myself (192.168.0.xxx) and the gateway(192.168.0.1), the router ip (assigned by adsl provider) 203.x.x.x as well . but i cannot ping the dns server and also other website ip such as www.hotmail.com, www.yahoo.com etc.

any advice?
thanks

wilo

Disable any software firewalls on your computer when troubleshooting the network.

You can test DNS servers with the nslookup utility. Run nslookup and you can enter name queries there and see if the DNS server you configured responds.

Your router may be blocking ping replies too. Did you set up any packet filtering? Also, your ISP may be blocking traffic to "protect" you.

thanks for the ans nodsu,

here is what it looks like if i try nslookup:

> www.gmail.com
Server: server.myisp.net
Address: 203.130.206.xxx

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: gmail.google.akadns.net
Addresses: 64.233.185.106, 64.233.185.107
Aliases: www.gmail.com, gmail.google.com

and also i think i did not set up any packet filtering cos when i set my network i just let the router do it all using the setup detection and that's it :) nothing else :)

err...what do u mean ISP blocking traffic to "protect" me?

thx

wilo

er its wireless router but i use cable as well :)