New computer restarting or crashing while playing games

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I am new to these forums and really just trying to find help with what might be wrong with my new computer. I'm sure that questions like this have been asked before and I tried searching before posting but didn't come up with much, so my apologies if I'm rehashing old problems. I'm hoping if I'm specific enough someone might have something to advise...

My new computer build is causing me problems while playing games. Here are the system specs - I am new to this so if you need anything else just ask.

Windows XP Home Edition SP2
AMD AthlonXP 3200+
AOpen AK77-600 Max Mobo
512MB RAM
Samsung 120GB HD
NVidia GeForce 6600 256MB

My husband and I just bought and built the computer about 3 weeks ago. Here's the problem: while playing games the games either crash to desktop with no error, crash to desktop with an error, or the computer reboots. Here is the list of particular games I have installed and tried playing so far along with the particular problem I've experience with each:

- The Sims 2 (plays fine for hours at a time sometimes, then sometimes it crashes to desktop with no error message, sometimes the computer reboots; it did this once just as I was starting the game)
- Zoo Tycoon (again, plays fine for hours sometimes, but sometimes it crashes to desktop with an error message after playing for some time)
- Neverwinter Nights (game crashes to desktop with an error message every time I play; sometimes I get an hour out of it before it crashes, sometimes only a few minutes; occasionally the computer will restart instead of/right after crashing; have had problems with sound looping right before crash with this occasionally)
- Age of Empires 3 demo (game crashes to desktop with no error; again, sometimes I get 20 minutes, sometimes it crashes almost immediately)