New computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
What a great site! I have spent some time lurking and can't seem to find anything pertaining to my question in the forums so I thought I would register and ask.

I am in the market for a new computer (tax return season and all). It is my wife who insists that I buy a computer built, from a brick and mortar store, rather than build one or buy one from the internet. I understand her feelings about this and will respect them.

I have about $600, give or take to spend, and this is for a computer and monitor. I have found some computers that I like, but I am not an expert and would like some input here. The front runner is this gateway:

Processor
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Processor 3800+
(2.0GHz, 2000MHz FSB, 2 x 512KB L2 cache)

Display
19" Widescreen HD LCD

Chipset
NVIDIA® GeForce® 6100 (Crush51)

Memory
1024MB dual-channel DDR2 (2 x 512MB), 533Mhz
(PC4200),

Video
NVIDIA® GeForce® 6100 Integrated Graphics up to 128MB of shared video memory

PCI-Express (PCI-E x16) slot available

Hard Drive
200GB PATA (7200rpm, 2MB cache)

Optical Drives
16x multiformat dual-layer DVD±RW drive
(up to 8.5GB with dual-layer media)
Write max: 16x DVD +/-R, 6x DVD-RW, 8x DVD+RW,
4x DVD+R DL, 40x CD-R, 24x CD-RW
Read max: 16x DVD-ROM, 40x CD-ROM

found here: http://www.gateway.com/home/products/ret/ret_GT5235E.shtml for $750.

If this is a decision that I will regret for the rest of my life, I will not be offended if you let me know.

I would really like to be able to game on this system, and so will likely want to also buy a card at a later date to add. At that time, will the above system not suck?

Thanks for your help in advance -

Jay

That Gateway is a good unit for the money. We have a lot of similar Gateways placed around the southwest. We find that a low priced Gateway is better in reliability than a low priced Dell.
However, I would sweet-talk your wife up to $700, then make shipping extra.