New here & have XP problems help pls

Status
Not open for further replies.
I found this site googling my problem with my laptop. Im really new at this stuff and could use some help pls.
I cant run my virus scan either on puter or online and cant update it either bc my puter shuts off during the scan. I cant do it in safe mode either. I read some posts soomewhere on here about ppl having same problem. Im using the AVG which i really like and i downloaded ad-aware (think thats the name) and system mechanic and they find the usual stuff and i do the deleting crap. No viruses found so i know thats not it. Just started doing this the last couple weeks. I also downloaded speedfan which i have no clue how to use, lol. Could someone pls tell me how to use it and also i read somewhere about cleaning the fan(s)? Can someone tell me step by step how to do that so i dont wreck my puter bc im really not that smart with this stuff. Im hoping to fix this stupid problem.
Thanks, Brat.

Hi SexyBrat7, welcome to Techspot. It sounds, to me, like you may have a virus on your computer, and it has the capability of disabiling your anti-virus programs. What anti-virus program do you have on your computer?

You can download a trial version of Ewido here: http://www.ewido.net/en/

Be sure you update it before using it, and when it finds a problem, be sure to select the check box to do the same action (clean) when it finds a problem, otherwise, you will have to click continue, to keep scanning with every problem it finds.

Try Ewido, and see if that helps, if that doesn't work, then we may have to try other things, so keep us informed.