New "Mick" in town

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top O' The Mornin'
I'm BJ O'Hara & I'm new to this posting stuff. Thought I might have better luck finding relevant results this way. I'm trying to get connected to the net with a pentium II Compaq, Win98SE and a hi-speed cable modem connected with an ethernet controller card. If I connect with a USB port to the modem it works fine. No such luck with the e-card. Any ideas?

The cable modem needs to be connected to a router before it can be connected to a computer. The connection would run like this: Cable modem connects to the routers WAN port, and then one of the other router connections would be used to connect to the computer. Good Luck!

Check your BIOS. Check or upgrade your ethernet driver on www.hp.com. Check your Device Manager to see if there are any flags, red or yellow, then if all looks good but doesn't work, Ethernet cards are only $10 to $14 most places, and used ones are only 5 bucks.
If you have never upgraded your drivers, download and upgrade everything... particularly the BIOS, Chipset, and Internet Controller card.

But you never know, with those early Pentium II Compaqs... many never had the ethernet activated properly in the BIOS of the early and mid '90s. Upgrading the BIOS is the easier way to fix it.

Also, using Windows 98SE instead of the Windows 98 of the early versions makes a difference on some installs. If you don't have a W98Se disc, borrow one.

As for the Cable Modem connection, You must begin the software connection with the Cable Modem disconnected in some units... then connect it in the middle of the install process... If you have the actual install disc, it will tell you when, otherwise, you have to guess.