New mobo for my P4 processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a dell dimension 2400 with a 2.66 Ghz P4 processor (and from my research I believe it is on a 478 socket mobo) and recently I've wanted to upgrade my video card (and in the future the HD...the dell only supports an 80 gig drive). The mobo doesn't have an agp slot and the tower only has a 200w power supply, so putting a video card in doesn't seem a very feasible option (especially only a pci card).

I've decided to buy a new case (Dell towers are not ATX) and a new mobo then use the components from my current machine to build the rest. I've never built a computer before, but I've been doing some research and I think this will work. Since I don't have alot of experience, I would like to pose the question here if this will work.

Here are some of the specs from my current machine (that I would like to put in the new machine):
-2.66 Ghz P4 processor socket 478
-640mb ram (PC 2700)
-40 gig HD (I believe it's ATA)
-JLMS DVD rom
-Sony CD burner
-floppy disk drive

Here's the mobo I am looking at buying:
# MSI PM8M-V Socket 478 VIA P4M800 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

AGP Slots: 1x AGP 4X/8X
CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4/Celeron
DDR Standard: DDR 400 (PC 3200)
FSB: 800/533MHz
Maximum Memory Supported: 2GB
Number of DDR Slots: 2x 184pin DDR
P ATA: 2 x ATA100 up to 4 Devices
PCI Slots: 3
South Bridge: VIA VT8237
Supported CPU Technologies: Hyper-Threading Technology
# Model #: PM8M-V
# Item #: N82E16813130519

(can be found here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813130519 )

Thank-you in advance for looking and helping someone out new to the pc world.