New pc build problem can some one help me?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Tech Spot members,

I need some help with an issue im having with a new pc I built.

A bit of my background, im a Network Administrator but know alot more then just that feild. I have been building clone computer systems since I was 15 now 24.

Now my problem,

I have recently built a computer system for a friend (I normally do not do). Anyhow It is setup with an Asus board 1gig OCZ memory, 3 Maztor hard drive 2 SATA Raid Mirrow and 3rd just a storage on ATA133. P4 2.8, yadi ydai.. The problem Im having is after the pc has been sitting off for the day and turining it on, the PC loads the bios check, then windows XP loading screen in dos.. then black screen and hangs. If I restart the pc it loads into windows no problem like nothing happened. If I try simulating it again by wating a few minutes.. it doesnt hang. But if I have it off for almost the whole day then trun it on for the first time bam it hangs and again after a fresh reboot all working and i can restart as many times or shutdown and everything is o.k.

Does anyone have a clue where to start looking?

So far I have noticed these things I thought could be the cause.

- Noticed ther SATA cables that came with the MB was not staying in place on the drives and was very slack that the interconnects would not touch and make proper contact.

So I replaced them.

Still same problem.

- Noticed the power suplly was only 330watts and thought with 3 drives and cd rom may be wanting extra juice.. even though im using an on board sound and video.

Replaced it with 400 watt.

Not fixed.. but system a bit faster.

Im not sure where too look now I dont want to spend more on it.. and it seems i can have a defective part but its working??? just not right??

this is the first time ive seen something like this.. usually you get it working or its not.

Sorry for the long post =P

anyone can help!

Hello and welcome to Techspot.