New Video Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scythe1303

Hey, I'm looking to get a new AGP video card because what I have is really limiting me, as I can't play the latest games / a lot of games on high detail.

What I currently have
- AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2083MHz)
- ATI Radeon 9200 128MB
- 512MB DDR

- Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-LA
- PSU: Bestec ATX-250-12Z REV, 250W +12V 14A

I was thinking of getting another 512MB, along with the video card. But I may need to get a new PSU as well, correct?
Also, budget I'm not too concerned about, just not anything too expensive.

Thanks for any help, as I am not too good at this.

you could get one of the geforce agp cards, they are kinda pricey because no one really buys them, more ram is always good too. I'm not sure where to shop for you since you live in NZ

Scythe1303 said:
I was thinking of getting another 512MB, along with the video card. But I may need to get a new PSU as well, correct?
Also, budget I'm not too concerned about, just not anything too expensive.

For us to help you need to provide a more specific price limit.

Ural_TuRK said:
For us to help you need to provide a more specific price limit.

Well, I guess anything under $350 USD would be fine. But having a look at a few cards, it looks like I probably will have to get a new PSU as well if I want a decent card.

Yep thats tru 250 watt aint much at all for a $350USD card, you should have at least 450 watts for PSU 4 the current generation of graphic cards, will your limit of $350USD include the PSU aswell? and can you tell me what 350USD would equal to in the new zealend or australian dollar? (me assuming the new zealend and australian dollar are similar)

$350 USD is about equal to $470 NZD. Having a look on Newegg however, I think that somewhere between $200-$300 is suffice, as there's not really anything else.
A few cards I looked at were X800SE, 7800GS and the X1950PRO. Any suggestions? Thanks.