1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

No Boot In Standby

By Cypher2006 ยท 8 replies
Mar 19, 2006
  1. i didnt know what forum part to put this in but i decided here.

    Problem: I normally left my old Pc in standby Mode and then it was easy to boot up but with my new system when i leave in standby and try and boot up the screen just stays black so i have to restart the PC and now have to leave the PC turned off, i like having Pc in standby and i would like to keep it that way
     
  2. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    anyone gonna answer *cry*?
     
  3. Peddant

    Peddant TS Rookie Posts: 1,446

    Try updating/reinstalling the video/monitor drivers.It might shake things into the right place again.
     
  4. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    i cant seem to find drivers for my monitor anywhere. its a TIME Monitor from my old computer
     
  5. Peddant

    Peddant TS Rookie Posts: 1,446

    I don`t think the monitor driver is the real problem.Concentrate on the video card.
     
  6. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    ive updated reinstalled the Video drivers to the latest ones and still nothing, maybe this is a lost cause and is a option of the motherboard?
     
  7. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 7,096   +418

    Go into the BIOS and set the desired wake up event.
     
  8. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    where do i find the wake up event option please?
     
  9. HillJack

    HillJack TS Rookie Posts: 19

    If you are running XP SP2, check your boot.ini file for /noexecute=optin and change it to /noexecute=alwaysoff

    When I recently installed SP2, I had the exact problem you are having with my laptop not coming out of standby - changing the /noexecute setting worked for me (most of the time... but I'm back to SP1 now :) ).
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...