Nvidia FX6800 Stuttering

Status
Not open for further replies.

HighwayUK

Nvidia FX6800 Stuttering - FIXED NOW

Ok, the basic issue is this....

When playing many games I find that at predictable gaps the video freezes for maybe a half second, then runs fine again. I'm fairly sure this is a config issue or maybe drivers because I've been using the current BIOS version for about 4 months and had 2 reinstalls in that time and it's not occured until current install. It's not like I even run games in stupid rez, most often stick to 1024x768, anyway here are my Specs, any advice would be appreciated.

Windows Xp Pro SP2 all current updates etc.
Norton Antivirus 2005 Active
Webroot Spysweeper 3.50 Active

3 Gig Intel Pentium 4 Prescott CPU
ASUS P4C800-Deluxe (BIOS v1019)
>>tried changing AGP size 64, 128, 256 and noticed bigger size went without gap longer, but didnt cure it.

ASUS Geforce FX6800 GE AGPx8 256mb (Asus Driver v71.84)
>>tried tuning the windows settings, tried High performance and High quality modes, neither affected the problem.

1 gigabyte of 400hz DDR ram running in dual channel mode.
>>current set at 2.5ms CAS...4 RAS precharge 4 RAS to CAS, precharge 8, Burst 4.

2x 120mb Seagate Barracuda SATA (8mb Cache)
1x 120mb Seagate Barracuda IDE (8mb Cache)
Creative Audigy 2 ZS using latest OpenAL driver updates

Tedster said:
could be the game is set at too high a resolution for your card.

:eek: I dont wanna sound ungrateful for ya help, but most games dont even need a FX5900 model video card to play fine at max resolutions in max detail, why would a FX6800??, also I have previously had them running better on my older 5900FX card (less than half as fast card) and my current setup too...just for some reason last month or so since a reinstall it doesnt.

BTW...the 6800 card are designed for running games like UT2004 at over 100 fps @ 1600x1200 and higher at max detail...so 1024x768 is giving it no effort really is it?