nvidia geforce 8 series

Status
Not open for further replies.

outlawarrior781

hi im new to these forums and this website. i need to buy a new video card, preferably in the 8 series, but i dont kno which one to get. i would like to kno the price of some good 8 series cards and i would also like to kno if my motherboard can handle these video cards. here are my pc specs.

PC SPECS:
Dell Dimesion E521
CPU: Amd Athlon 64 3200+ (2.0 Ghz)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 (4 PC2-4200 512 MB sticks)
Video Card: Nvidia Geforce 6150 LE
Monitor: Dell 15" LCD (maximum resolution 1600 x 1200) (im not planning on buying a new monitor so if this effects wat type of video card i need, let me kno)

if u need more info, let me kno and il tell u. im not really good with computers. Again i would prefer video cards in the 8 series, but if they have 7 series video cards that are better, cheaper, and my mother board can handle then let me kno. i would prefer not to go above $200.

I have your same system. The best 8000 series you can put in is the 8600GTS. That's with the stock psu, no upgrade needed since nothing better will fit in it.
The 7000 series up to 7900GT. If you go with a 7 series, I would put a 7900GS in it. The 7's have a 256bit bus, the 8's 128bit bus but have DX10.

kpo6969 said:
I have your same system. The best 8000 series you can put in is the 8600GTS. That's with the stock psu, no upgrade needed since nothing better will fit in it.
The 7000 series up to 7900GT. If you go with a 7 series, I would put a 7900GS in it. The 7's have a 256bit bus, the 8's 128bit bus but have DX10.

o hey thanks a lot man. im planning on getting a 500 W PSU but thats gonna be in a while. i want this video card to last. wats this bus that ppl be talking about. is it how fast the VRAM travels? well anyway thanks man. il search these on newegg, find out which one's cheaper, and make a decision. thanks a lot.