OC E6600, Asus P5B, Patriot ddr2-1067

Status
Not open for further replies.

tchiseen

Okay, i just wanted to double check that im a noob.

I have a Asus p5b, with core duo e6600 and patriot 1ghz ram. the ram is currently running at 800mhz or somthing, and everything is stock. timings are the 5.5.5.15 factory settings on the ram.

I think that means i should oc the cpu and ram to be

6x500 and ddr2 1000 but i dont know. i want the ram to runat the ghz, and i would like some oc on the cpu, as i've got a big typhoon 120mm sink on it, keepin it chilled.

thanks for the impunt~!~!~

the core2's o/c great, but i doubt your memory will be able to keep up. increase the FSB clock in small increments, verifying that the system is fully functional after each increase. before long, you will get to a point where the system crashes upon boot or will not POST. you may need to reset the BIOS, so make sure you know how to do that and that you write down your settings. once this happens, revert to the last clock speed that worked. run memtest to ensure that the system is really functioning properly.

in addition to increasing the clocks speeds, voltages can be increased to allow for higher speeds. increasing voltages will cause a lot of extra heat to be produced, and a dramatic increase can damage/destroy parts. i wouldn't mess with the voltage until the system has stayed running for a few days with a maxed-out FSB. leaving the voltages alone is a good idea for novice overclockers.

overclocking can irreparably damage and/or destroy your hardware if done wrong, so it's important to be patient. remember that you are going to need to keep close tabs on your CPU and northbridge temps during the entire process. if you see temps that exceed the mobo's specs, back off. even if the system seems to be running fine, heat will, in time, kill it.

it would not hurt to consult some online literature on overclocking and to familiarize yourself with your mobo's manual and BIOS.