Old HDD New Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I hope someone can help me with a problem I am having sorry for the long description but more info always helps right:) I purchased a new computer at a show a couple of months back after my old one died, The new computer has a SeaGate 200gb Sata HDD My old computer had a WestDigital 120gb IDE HDD the new board supports Sata so I purchased a IDE to Sata Device Bridge set the jumper to Master since I read Sata has no master/slave designation and restarted my computer I got into my BIOS and the HDD shows up as the Fourth IDE Master and my boot list has my orignal HDD listed to boot 1st. But the computer only gets to a black screen that tells me Disk boot failure install system disk and hit enter. Ok there is the story now here is the questions the old hdd has XP installed on it and so does the new hdd is this creating my problem? Also I am a computer novice at best most I know is from mistakes I make or things I read on this and other posts What disk will I need to install the new computer only came with a Recovery disk, but I do have the Windows XP disk from the old computer.

Once again sorry for the long post and any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Jason

Yuor mistake is setting your old hard drive as master to boot from. Hard drives with OS's installed on them are NOT plug and play devices. when windows installs it creates the HAL ( Hardware Abstraction Layer) that is specific to the hardware on the machine that windows is being installed on. You cant take a hard drive that had windows installed on it from one chipset and then expect it to boot up when putinto a machine with a completely different chipset. if your goal is to retrieve data fromt he old hard drive then set the hard drive as slave on one of the IDE channels.

iss said: