Overclocking Help Needed +3000 AMD XP

Status
Not open for further replies.

d_kollar

Overclocking Help Needed ++3000 AMD XP

heyy guys well basically iam trying to overclock my AMD 3000 XP which is 2.16GHZ to about 2.8GHZ i manage to overclock it to 2.4 no problem and the temperture is about 38 C everytime i try to go higher then 186MHZ it never runs windows xp and goes into a black screen i would have to restart and put it back to 186MHZ but

I know 2.8GHZ is a big step also so what kind of cooling products would i need.

Also what are the chances of the cpu getting damaged or fry so far that i know of is that if the temperture goes to aroud 75 - 80 C it frys the cpu but other then that is there any more risks?

this is my first time overclocking sorry for being such a newb lol thanks guys if you can help me out.

AMD 3000+ XP [ 2.16GHZ ]
ASUS A7N8X
60GB HARDRIVE
256MB RAM

DAVE.

Overclocking help needed. AMD +3000 XP

heyy guys well basically iam trying to overclock my AMD 3000 XP which is 2.16GHZ to about 2.8GHZ i manage to overclock it to 2.4 no problem and the temperture is about 38 C everytime i try to go higher then 186MHZ it never runs windows xp and goes into a black screen i would have to restart and put it back to 186MHZ but

I know 2.8GHZ is a big step also so what kind of cooling products would i need.

Also what are the chances of the cpu getting damaged or fry so far that i know of is that if the temperture goes to aroud 75 - 80 C it frys the cpu but other then that is there any more risks?

this is my first time overclocking sorry for being such a newb lol thanks guys if you can help me out.

AMD 3000+ XP [ 2.16GHZ ]
ASUS A7N8X
60GB HARDRIVE
256MB RAM

DAVE.

I'm not sure if a axp 3000+ can hit 2.8, I could be wrong though. I guess all things are possible with liquid nitrogen or phase cooling. ;)
You could try a really good heatsink or watercool it if you don't want the expense of the "extreme" measures.