Overclocking info required.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an FIC k8mc51g mobo and an amd sempron 3100+ proccesor my chipset is nvidia nforce 430/410. this is my first computer( bought it at walmart) is there anyway i might be able to change my bios so that i could overclock its currently only running at 1.8ghz. take it easy on me if its a dumb question this is my first time. any help would be appreciated.

thanks
Russ

ohh my chipset is nvidia nforce 430/410 and i cant see my bios string, damn e is all that shows while its counting the memory.

thanks again

If you are not VERY experienced with computers, I don't recomend overclocking. It can damage your pc, shorten its lifespan, use more power, and the performance increase is mediocre at best.

Regards,

Korrupt

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Your cpu is running at the correct speed.

I agree with korrupt, ocing can lead to problems if you don`t know what you`re doing. I don`t think ocing your cpu would reap very much of a performance boost at all.

However, having said that, it`s up to you if you really want to try.

I have moved your thread to the correct cooling and modding forum. I have also changed your thread title to something a little more appropriate. If you have a look around in this foum, you will find lots of info on overclocking.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Overclocking an oem machine is not a good idea, they usually have just enough cooling to run at normal speed and their power supplies cant really handle the extra power need to overclock!!!

Basically, overclocking generates a lot more heat and uses a bit more power!!!!

you really don't have to be"VERY experienced" you just have to read carefully some topics around and you'll get the ideea of overclocking at least i did..and i never did "damage" to my pc.

You may be able to get a bios update from your mobo manufacturer, but i would advise against overclocking without at least upgrading your cpu cooler!!