partition woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

yeah

I recently had the "pleasure" of re-installing XP on my C drive due to my motherboard mysteriously dying. The problem lays in the size of partition that I could make. I am running a 120 GB drive, but I could only make a partition up to 31.4 GB. I asked a few people that I know, and one of them thought she had heard of a flaw being in the recovery program that would only let the user make a partition about that size. So I got Partition Magic 8 to try and increase the size of it, but that says that the maximum size is the 31.4 gigs. Anyone know how to get my space back?

during bootup, the IDE detect shows that there is a 120 GB drive there, it's just that windows doesn't recogonizo it being that large.

I am a newbie to this forum and a basic search didn't reveal anything useful, so if this had been covered, just link.

thanks

How are you creating the partition exactly?

~30GB is the size limitation for FAT32 file system so if you are making a new partition as FAT32 it won't let you go above that.

Windows XP and Windows Me create FAT32 partitions larger than 64GB. Are they stretching that file system thin or what?! :)

If you are using FAT32.. Please don't! NTFS or die.

32GB limit is a common barrier for older systems. But Partition Magic and Windows XP should not have a problem recognizing the full capacity of your drive. By older I mean first generation Pentium IIIs and first generation Athlons and older.

Many drives have a "32GB clip", and if this is a new drive, you probably have this enabled. YOu can change this by moving the jumpers on the back of the drive... It works simliarly to master / slave only it is a secondary jumper that you can remove.

If this is not the problem, you said you changed your motherboard. It may not support drives larger than 32GB. This usually can be solved by updating the BIOS. Visit your manufacturer's website for any updates you can apply.