PC Running Reaaaaalllly Slow !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian W

Hi,

First post here, im a technician by trade but for some reason I really can't get to the bottom of the problem with my own PC lol

Quick Spec

P4 3.6
1GB RAM
Onboard Video
Maxtor 80GB HDD x2 (Master and Slave)

Put a new motherboard in a couple of weeks ago due to my last one dying after blowing a few capacitors, I bought a ASROCK P4VM890 which is bacially the same as what was in (new model of my original board).

At first it was working great but then all of a sudden its gone tits up lol

Firstly it takes a good 5 mins to boot up XP, then intermitantly it wont display my slave HDD. The machine runs really slow, if for instance im playing an MP3 and I try to scroll down a webpage then the mp3 will slow down like someones put there hand on the record player lol

Another strange one which is puzzeling me is that sometimes my keyboard wont work, its a MS wireless one and i've never had an issue with it before but now it doesnt like working unless I reboot the machine a few times.

I have run tests on the HDD's using HD Tune and they come back ok, my thoughts are now the RAM but with there being multiple faults im thinking the new motherboard could be faulty.

Can anyone make any recommendations?

Cheers

Ian

Make sure you've reinstalled the new motherboard drivers and removed the old ones. Also try re-installing gfx drivers and thing peripheals as well. Short of that just do a clean format and all should be fixed. Not to practical to just drop a new mobo into an old setup.

Sorry, should of made it clearer in the original post.

When I installed the new bored I done a clean install and installed all the latest drivers for the board and periphials.

I suppose it wouldnt hurt to try it again to see if its got it self in a mess somewhere

Ian

Sounds to me as if you had it running fine before you then installed some software! Is it perhaps your AV?