Peer to peer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nearly every P2P network is infested with trojans, virii, etc.
The purpose of those networks is obvious.
We at TechSpot do not condone piracy in any form.
Apart from that, you get more hassle than benefit from P2P, so stay away, for your PC's health!

I agree, and I warn you not to go around posting posts like that on websites, because nowadays, they are getting ppl for pirating software.

I use lime wire. A good way to tell if what you are getting is legit look at the file size. A movie is not going to be 2mb and a programs is not going to be .5mb.

get emule.. just make sure that you go to the prefernces and make the emule program use your antivirus to scan with cause it does not scan the incoming files.. you will have to pay like 20 buck to get the software though if you don't want to do that i have a backup subsciption that you can have man..just email me and tell me where to send it..

errr - there is no subscription fee for emule. Sorry OP, but I think you've been conned!

I wouldn't advise emule myself anyway. I'd repeat RBS's advice, except for the part about p2p haveing too much hassle. P2P as people tend to think of it (piracy and music sharing, etc) I'd agree, but it does have some legit uses.

I think BitTorrent works well and has legal uses. I just finished downloading Fedora Core 5 Test 3 DVD last night, going to install it later today.

Of course every p2p network has users who fake or restrict their uploads, so naturally it hurts others.

One should remember that not everyone lives in the centre of the world before making sweeping claims about legality of things. In my country it is legal to make private copies of works of art. This means that I can download any movie/song as long as I don't share them myself afterwards.

And, in general, one doesn't get viruses from audio or video files - you get infected only if you are stupid enough to download and run executable files.