pick me out a videocard...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayno20

I am in the market for a video card (PCI-E) i need to be able to buy it from dell.com... it has to be an ATI, it has to support SM 3.0 and i'd like for it to be under 250.00... im kind of new to the whole video card thing so please explain anything u can while making suggestions...

i can't imagine the advantage, if any, of buying from dell.com unless you need a specialized card (low-profile cars are sold elsewhere). i reccomend checking out tigerdirect.com and newegg.com

you're going to need to give us your system's detailed specs (include PSU ratings), your OS, and what you aspire to do with the new card (games, softwares you plan on running). without this information, i can't really tell you anything except to stick with good brands - gigabyte, asus, msi, ati, bfg (incomplete list, but more than enough variety there)

well the computer has a 3.0GHZ HT processoer 1 gig ram, and its windows xp, i want to game with it... i need to buy from dell cause i have credit there... it doesnt have to be tip top of the line video card, but something decent for under 250.00

For around $20 more, u can get this card which is the creme-de-la-creme of today's cards. I have two 512MB versions in Crossfire and they rip through any game maxed out as if it were paper. However, if u want a cheaper but severely crippled version of the same card (since u still want a Radeon), consider this card. But the latter is seriously weak though and gets beaten by this card very easily, so I would recommend getting that instead of the Radeon. It's an NVIDIA card but it's really great and the best in the $200 price range.

What current card do u have? Also, are u sure u have PCi-E?