Planning my computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey all, a couple weeks ago i was in the begining stages of planning my computer, and asked about whether to go amd or athlon. as of right now, here is my setup, just wanted to run it by people because this is my first build:

mobo: GigaByte GA-K8NF-9
CPU: AMD Athlon64 3000+ (socket 939)
memory: crucial 512mb
harddrive: either a WD or Seagate 80gb SATA 7200rpm (i have a 160gb external firewire for media and such)
video: ASUS nvidia 6200
optical: LG electronics DVD+/-RW 16X Mulitformat Drive, Model GSA-4163BK
case: not quite sure yet, going between antec (for the good PSU) and these:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=11-156-165&depa=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=11-147-005&depa=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=11-144-026&depa=1

im pretty excited, does anyone know about rosewill / aspire / raidmax PSU's? ive heard some horror stories of bad psus and such..i know antec is good but i dont know anything about these companies.

and my last question, the mobo has 8 channel audio :eek: , which seems to be standard these days! i was just wondering if anybody knows how to hook that up..there are 4 stereo headphone outputs, 1 for a pair of front speakers, 1 for a pair of rears....1 for a pair of sides...and 1 for the subwoofer and center speaker.

im used to dealing with my home-theater and receiver setup...are you just supposed to buy a few pairs of powered computer speakers and hook them up? how can you hook a single speaker and a subwoofer to 1 headphone jack? and lastly...i have some spare speakers lying around, wired speakers...which probably would require some sort of amplifier. i was hoping to use those....anyyyways..any thoughts?

Suggestion

Mainboard: