Playing WoW at work, I've seen it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Browncoat

A co-worker plays WoW at work all the time. I know he uses a form of a proxy server at his house, and connects to it through either port 20, 21, and 22 which all works. I'm trying to make a proxy server, or I'm guessing a web proxy server, but I can't find a site. http-tunnel.com had something, but I'm not sure if it works. If you guys could help, or give me a site that can help I really appreciate it.

Yes paradox, that's what I want. And I'm a computer Operator, they want me to site there for 8 and a half hours doing nothing, but I don't

well, not really sure what you need proxy wise, wouldnmt call myself a genius
but used a proxy switcher to get around the web blocks at my high school...

Proxy Switcher Standard it was called....
google it..
prolly not much help, but GL

Find out what operating system he's using at home. This can be done but you'll most likely want:
(a) Linux as your host at home as these have bundled/high-performance SOCKS4 and SOCKS4 proxy services.
(b) Good uplink AND downlink latency. Many generic ISP's/broadband have horrible up-link performance and latency.
(c) Static IP (although there are scripting ways to get around this if you don't mind changing your WoW client config often).

With all of the above, it's pretty simply to configure SOCKS 5 proxy server to relay on the port of your choice out to WoW's servers.

I do need a SOCKS server, but I'm trying to look around for a "user friendly" one. I downloaded antinat, but thats....not user friendly. I have SOCKS Cap on my laptop, I just need the server

I would think the easiest thing would be to ask your coworker for his solution. One of my bosses at HP did this after hours, but he was the admin for a clan running their own hacked WOW server, and the preferred solution there was the SOCKS client from Hummingbird (not free or even cheap). I recall the server was a co-located box on The Planet bandwidth.