Please help with Win XP Pro Multibooting!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a PC with 2 drives: C & D (master & slave )on Win XP Pro.
I previously had a multiboot system with Win XP Pro on each drive. Worked well.
My system became unstable due to hardware difficulties (now resolved).
I re-installed Win XP on C drive, but now cannot multiboot.
My Win on D Drive is still intact.
My Boot.ini is:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

How do I modify to be able to multiboot again?
And if I change on C Drive, must I also change on D drive when I eventually solve the problem.
I'm desperate, please help!!

i am no pro on dos programming but i think you should add
multi(1)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional"

look in Microsoft web first before trying my suggestion

Lucan

Thank you SO much for your help. Really appreciated!

This is what I did. It now works!

Regards, Tjaart

[boot loader]
timeout=5
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional Normal" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional Video Editing" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

I've read the descriptions of these fields and I've tried several combinations, but I still can't get my PC to boot the way I want it to.

I have an on-board IDE RAID controller that was setup as RAID0 (mirror) with only 1 30G drive connected to Primary RAID IDE and 1 30G drive connected to Secondary RAID IDE. The boot.ini for this drive has been the standard multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1). The MB also has a non-RAID IDE controller (Pri/Sec) allowing me to connect up to 8 IDE devices if all channels are used.