Printer sharing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Printer sharing

Hi I am new to this, so please be patient with me?
First I am an electronic engineer, I have built two computers and each computer has its own printer.
I have installed a Linksys EtherFast cable DSL Router to gain access to the WWW.
I have used a hard wire (RJ45) as the communication medium between each computer and the Router.
I now wish to be able to print to either printer from either computer.
I have set both printer software to share, but I am unable to see the other printer on the network?

All advice and guidance most welcomed.

if you go to start -> run then enter the ip adress of the computer eg. \\192.168.1.1 then click on. the printer shared on that computer should be there.

when adding the shared printer to the computer select the network printer option and on the next page chose the second option "connect to this printer" and in the text box type \\"ip address"\printer share name

if necessary a password will appear.

How to create a Printer Server using 2 PCs and 2 Printers

Smart way to do this is, just turn one of those PCs you have into a print server. You don't have to install any server software. That's how I do it. Why because its better to control more than one PC from one source. If you have more than one USB 1.1/2.0 on these PCs you're built then use them to connect these printers.

On the PC2 that will act as a print server you can see them under printer and faxs, then you can share them out from there so that other PCs on your workgroup can use them.

click on Try the above once you do, do this from the other PC1 that you want to connect to the two printer from:

click on start
click on run
type: \\computer name or ip address of the PC2 that acts as your print server