Problems with new RAM on Gigabyte board

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I've recently bought 2x 512 DDR400 RAM for my ol' Gigabyte 845PE (GA-8PE667) board. I admit this was not the best of ideas, since it only officially supports DDR333, but hey.

The PC would run fine until I started playing a game, then it would freeze or reeboot. It got to a point where the PC was then freezing when I was doing nearly anything.

At first I thought it was the video card but then I figured it's the RAM. However, I tried replacing the DDR400 with my old DDR333 but now the same thing happens when I play games, and sometimes when I'm burning DVDs etc. I haven't flashed the BIOS cos I'm paranoid I might use the wrong update.

I've never OC'd the system, all BIOS settings are at default, I have all drivers updated... does anyone have any idea why this might be happening?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
==============================
System:
Gigabyte GA-8PE667 mobo
P4 2.40b
1gig A-Data DDR400 / 512meg V-Data DDR333
Radeon 9800 Pro 256meg (tried Cat 5.8-5.11)
80gig Seagate HDD
Pioneer DVR-A10XL burner

Thanks IronDuke. I tried that and it didn't seem to make much of a difference.

The GPU seems to get quite hot - I was using ATiTool which was telling me it was staying around 70f, but when I placed my fingers on the heatsink it was extremely hot. I've purchased some thermal paste and am hoping that'll make a difference. Until the paste arrives I've placed a fan next to the open case and it seems to make it last a little longer.

I'm pretty sure it's the video card now. If I try to play a game, artifacts will appear and textures will go a little nuts before the PC finally freezes or reboots.

I've tried Catalyst versions 5.8 through to 5.11 - no good. Same problem still occurs. I'll give 5.13 a go today methinks...

But it's definitely a video card problem and not a RAM problem right?