Question Re: compatible audio driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

joellen

:confused:

I'm totally new at this, so any help will be appreciated. I had pc problems, and lost the Windows sound. Current profile says I have ENSONIQ AudioPCI ES1371, and Wave Device for Voice Modem. Have Creative speakers, Model# SBS10, which tested good. Windows Media says I have no sound device, and I have no sound on RealPlayer. Do I just need to download a driver, and if so, will ES1370 work? Or is there an ES1371? I'm using Windows 98SE.
Also need to know what is R4, R4.5, R5, and how do I determine which I have or need?
Sorry this is so long, but I'm getting desperate, and I'm an old lady, so please humor me. :)
joellen

Thanks, vegasgmc, I have another question

:blush:

Thanks so much for the help.

Well, actually, two questions ... Windows update and Driver Guide both say I have the latest audio driver, but I still have no sound, even though my sound card and speakers are good, so where do I go from there to find my problem?

On the offchance that my sound card could be the culprit, how do I check it out, to know?

I haven't been able to get the new driver to install, but I really don't know the proper way to do that ... is it because I already have the driver I need?
I'm a total newbie at all this, and I do appreciate any suggestions from anyone who can help. I'm missing some important conference calls by not having sound and am going bananas.

Hope I'm not asking for too much, but I'm spending literally hours trying to figure it out on my own.

joellen

Thats what we're here for :giddy:
What PC problems did you have before and what was done to the computer?
What does R4, R4.5 and R5 relate to?

It all started with a download