Raedon 9800 all in wonder - can't use TV caputure

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've have raedon 9800 all in wonder graphics card on my comp. To be truthful i'm a bit of novice when it comes technical stuff on my comp! My problem is i cant seem to be able to use my tv function. I put the TV areial in the back of the comp and ran the diagnostic test and it tells me that my cpu (being an athlon 2800) does not support MMX. Surely my cpu most be able to support the TV function, or is this not the case? All so Maybe I have not set it up right? I would appreciate any help

Diagnostics is wrong, your CPU does support MMX. If it refuses to work because of that, I suggest either upgrading that application or using a different TV app.

Just thought I'd like to add something here. Early MMX enabled programs didn't check if the cpu supported MMX. Instead they looked for the brand of cpu, namely if it was an Intel cpu. Unless there is a patch for your program to fix this problem, you are out of luck in getting it to work on an AMD cpu. Pretty lame I agree. Damn those shody programmers!!

ATI Multimedia Center "PC Check" - MMX architecture not detected
This issue affects the following configurations:

* PC Check utility within ATI Multimedia Center 8.1/8.5/8.7

Some users have reported that when running the PC Check Utility, the processor capabilities will be incorrectly detected. Such processor capabilities can include MMX, SSE, SSE2 or 3Dnow.

Although the MMX architecture may not be detected by the ATI PC Check, this should not hinder the functionality of the Multimedia Center application.

An upcoming version of the Multimedia center will address this issue.

download ATI MMC 8.8. the MMX issue has been resolved (somewhat).

get it from here: http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html

it is a big download so unless you got broadband, have a lot patience.