Recommend me a Video Card!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

alvdy

Hi there everybody!
I was wondering if anyone could recommend me a graphics card?
I am a student with a part time job and not much money! I am currently building a computer and need a good graphics card that will play The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and Age Of Empires III, do everyday school work and surf the web etc and would be compatible with the AsRock 775V88 Motherboard.
(Specs Here )
I live in New Zealand so if I cannot find the recommended boards here then i will probably ignore them as I do not really want to import into the country as i do not know if NZ has any import rules!!!
Thanks in advance for and recommendations!!!
Cheers
Allan

Well, it's a bit of a tall order actually. The games you are wanting to play require fairly powerful graphics cards.

You need to get an AGP graphics card. The first thing you need to confirm is whether or not your current PSU will be enough to power a new card, otherwise you'll need to budget a new PSU in as well.

Open up your case and look at the sticker attached to the power supply and read how many watts your PSU is rated at. Also look at the chart on the sticker. How many amps on the +12v rail?

Hi there
Thanks for the quick reply!
The PSU is a 400W Maxcase PSU.
The +12V rail is 12Amps!
Cheers
Allan

Edit: The only things that i currently have are a Case, PSU, Wireless Card (which we already had and i will probably not use!) and a fan. That Motherboard is the one that I wish to buy as I believe that AsRock have a good record and in NZ I can get it at a good price.
Cheers
Allan

If you haven't already bought your board, I'll offer you some food for thought.

I'd recommend you get a board that is compatible with the core 2 duo CPUS. You don't necessarily need to get that CPU now, but if you get a motherboard that is compatible with those CPUs, then at least you leave your upgrade options open.