Recommendations for an upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

deras4

Hi guys

I would like to upgrade my graphic card, which currently is a “NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT”. I would like to have two similar cards as I have a SLI motherboard.

I have around 350 USD for the purchase, and the cards are going to be used for gaming as well as working. I work as a constructing architect and is using Revit Architecture and ADT07 as my main working interface.
Concerning the gaming part, I usually only play “Civilization 4 BTS” and “Football manager 2008” but would like to be able to run Colin McRae, World in Conflict and Ghost Recon with no graphical lacking as well.

My PC spec’s are:

Motherboard – ASUS A8N-SLI Socket 939
Graphic interface – PCI-Express x16
Memory – 1024 MB DDR Dual
CPU – AMD Athlon 64 3200+
CPU Speed – 2015.0 MHz
Power Supply Make/Model – TAGAN TG530-U15
Watt output/Amperage – 2 x 20A (33A)

Thanks in advance.

Sli is only worth doing if you have a high resloution monitor. If you are using a flat panel that only supports 1024x768 then its pointless for example.
If thats the case, then spending all your money on one card would gain much more benefit.

Unless you inted to run all your games at that resolution then you would see little or no benefit.

Buying 1 good card would be a far better idea in my opinion.

Well, a friend of mine just got an 8800gt 320meg card and he loves it, so...

The 8800 GT 512MB card is only about $250 right now and is better than a 8800 GTS 640MB. It is the best possible card for the money. Also in a couple of weeks the price dip to $200.

rik, is that not a miss print as I did not reconize that mem. on a gt and googled it and either come up with the 8800gts at that mem. or a far lesser card or if I look at the 8800gt all I find is 250 mb?