Remote Connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

seanmcq

I know a fair bit about networking, but mostly on router/cisco side of things, but as far as Windows remote connections goes, I don't know much about. Basically my sister has a computer at her home but she always needs help with some things and to get me to load things or show her things. We both have a connection through Pipex which has a dynamic IP address.

Is it possible for me to set up some sort of remote connection from my PC to her PC so that if she needs help again that I can just connect to her computer. I am aware that this is possible, but I'm not sure if it works without a static IP address. I have a copy of PCAnywhere but I've never used it before.

Any help would be appreciated
Sean

You need to open the relevant ports in her firewall and install the software of course. Make sure her ISP allows inbound connections.

As for the IP address.. You could just send her to www.whatismyip.com whenever help is needed. Or get a dynamic DNS name from somewhere like www.dyndns.org. They offer small programs too that update the hostname whenever needed.

Thanks everyone. The Remote Desktop in Windows XP does the job. I set her up a Dynamic DNS on DynDNS (Cheers Nodsu) and downloaded the updater onto her computer so she doesn't have to find her IP address if she needs help. So I can just log onto her computer with the DNS address and her Windows password.

I had to open TCP & UDP ports 3389 to allow Remote Desktop through her firewall. Are there any obvious security issues over leaving these permanetly open? As with the DNS update would it be better for her to leave it closed until she needs help then I can just get her to open it, instead of it permanently updating the DNS? I don't want to leave her suceptible to attack.