SB Audigy 2ZS Recording issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi folks,

I'm hoping someone more knowledgable than me can give me a hand.

I recently bought a microphone so I could talk to my gf using VoIP while she's studying abroad in Germany. The first one I bought seemed to record very quietly. Even with the microphone bar in "play control" set at max, and the +20dB boost checked, the playback was still very quiet. I thought it was the microphone, so I returned it and bought a different brand. Same problem. She says she can barely hear me.

I did a search on this forum, it seems someone has had this problem before (it was in 2004). His question wasn't answered, hence my post.

My computer is a Dell with an SB Audigy 2 ZS [DC80] sound card. I have two ports for a microphone (one in the front, one in the back (a pink one)), but the playback is about the same on both.

I'm no pro at computers. I barely know what to ask for as a solution. Is there a realtime mic gain booster I can download. Maybe a different version of the sound card driver, or something else?

Any help is appreciated,
Jeff

Your card is the oem version of the Creative SB0358
There are no Dell drivers I can find for that card. Try these from Creative:

http://us.creative.com/support/down...&driverlang=1033&OS=10&drivertype=0&x=14&y=12

Since you have an oem card they may not work. You could try to get the CD software from Dell if Creative's don't work (which happens alot lately)
What you would ask for is the Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Driver/Software kit, SB0358
Your service tag # should be on file with them

Ohhhh boy...

First, I want to thank you for your help kpo6969. What you told me was probably right, but I screwed it up.