Sempron 64 compatability

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys!
i was planning on buying this processor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819104245
And was wondering if there is any motherboards that will recognize and use it to its potential without flashing the bios, because i know the processor is somewhat new, and most reviews say that they have to tweak bios and mess around with things. Im looking to not spend more then 100 dollars on a Mobo..
and also have the mobo be on newegg, im kind of new to this, so thats why im asking this question. Im expeirenced at like using computers and such, but i have only assembled one (this one) Thank you guys for your help!
-ryan

What do you plan to use your new computer for? If you simply need something for browsing the internet, then the sempron will be fine, but you should know that those sempron CPUs are built as a budget level part. The Athlon CPUs are far superior to the semprons in every way. Is there any particular reason that you are wanting to build a system around that particular CPU?

I mainly will be using it to play world of warcraft and counter strike source... im kind of under a tight budget of 250.00 so i dont know what to buy (it needs to be a processor and mobo at least)

You are wanting to spend $250 on motherboard and processor right? What parts are you planning on re-using? Specifically, can you give us the details of your current power supply, Ram (not only how much memory the ram is, but it's speed in Mhz), and video card.

If you get a new motherboard, chances are your old ram will be too slow for it. There is also a chance that your current power supply will not have enough juice for the new system. And finally, if you are wanting to build for gaming, arguably the most important part is your video card.

Your hard drive, CD/dvd drives etc. and case can probably be carried over.

Just some rambling thoughts...